Introducing: Inside the Flat Broke Kitchen!

1 Oct

You used to find the young, hip and trendy crowd at the hottest restaurants in town, casually chatting with other hipsters β€” eating $10 entrees, $8 desserts and sometimes racking up one vicious bar bill on top of it.

That was before the economy flew to pieces. But no matter how penniless you are, YOU STILL HAVE TO EAT. Don’t fear starvation, though. You just have to get creative — and possibly learn how to cook, for crying out loud.

Welcome to a new periodic segment called “In the Flat Broke Kitchen.” Here, I’ll show you how to fix breakfasts, lunches, dinners, desserts and drinks that rival gourmet chefs and without the gourmet prices.

OK. Maybe I exaggerated on the gourmet chef part, but this stuff will be good.

Just as being cheap is trendy these days, cooking at home is the new the new black. According to this Associated Press story that ran in the San Francisco Chronicle, more people are definitely eating at home. Even if they’re terrible enough to burn water, they’re investing time and money into learning how to cook at home and still eat well.

Here’s an interesting little tidbit from that story: An average 2.9 million people watched the fifth season of Bravo’s”Top Chef” — up from 1.1 million when the show debuted in 2006. Meanwhile, restaurant visits from people ages 18 to 24 dropped by eight percent last year.

Let me make one thing clear: Just as I’m not Suze Orman, I’m also not Rachael Ray. In fact, my past cooking disasters have been outright notorious! But that’s OK. If you’re terrible, we’ll learn together. If you’re a great cook, maybe you’ll still learn some money saving ideas from me.

I have also called upon fabulous and creatively cheap cooks I know to help throw me some recipes, and I believe I have some seriously scrumptious ones lined up πŸ™‚ I’m going to show you how to make everything from sandwiches and instant coffee to Thanksgiving dinner!

By the way, I’ll also show you ways to cook light and cut back on the calories, fat grams, etc. I’m on a mission to drop a significant amount of weight, so the dieters out there can join me on my mission.

If you have recipes you’d like to submit, please give me a yell! You will receive full credit for your service to your fellow poverty-stricken citizens πŸ™‚

Now, let’s get fired up and fire up our kitchens!

4 Responses to “Introducing: Inside the Flat Broke Kitchen!”

  1. Dieting Meal October 1, 2009 at 4:51 am #

    Just cut and paste this code easily to add this to your blog, myspace, or webpage. Dieting Meal

  2. Jacque Jo October 3, 2009 at 10:07 am #

    I have a really inexpensive vegetarian vegetable soup that’s pretty awesome. If beef cubes are on sale, you can always upgrade it, but I like it even without the meat.

    What do you need? 5 cans (when I say can, I mean the normal, regular size. I don’t know the ounces exactly).

    1 can Progresso (or store brand) minestrone soup
    1 can black beans (rinse these. trust me.)
    1 can white corn
    1 can diced tomatoes (you can mix this up a little and pick the mexican kind, the ones with onion and garlic .. it’s up to you)
    1 can mixed vegetables.

    Pour them all, as they exist, into your pot. Heat. (Rinse the beans, though. It’s much better if you do.)

    You can add beef or chicken. Chicken’s often cheaper and you can always parcel off what chicken you don’t use for this to use for other things.

    I think that must made my mind up for tonight. πŸ™‚

    • flatbrokegirl October 3, 2009 at 12:43 pm #

      Who’s my girl? The Girl of Words, she’s my girl. πŸ™‚

      Thank you!

      Here’s a piece of advice for everyone out there: Visit http://girlofwords.com . It’s minty fresh and fat-free.

  3. Marie October 12, 2009 at 12:24 pm #

    Hey! One of my favorite things to cook (and you know I am a fantastic cook) is a very simple bean soup. It is the 15 bean Cajan soup. It comes in a bag in the dry bean section of the store. You just soak the beans over night and then throw them in a crock pot when you get up for work. Add the seasoning packet when you get home and let it simmer for another hour or so. As a matter of fact, I am having it today. You can dress it up if you want to with canned tomatoes or turkey kilbasa or whatever else you think might be yummy if you want, but it is not necessary. Total cost is about $3 if you don’t add extras and it feeds about 8 people or makes great leftovers.
    My other favorite broke thing to make is a community dinner. I think that is how John and I ate the first few years we were married. You call your other broke friends and put items together to make dinner. Trust me, the company is so good that you forget you are so poor that you can’t afford a whole meal.

Leave a Reply

