Sixth Day of Flat Broke Christmas: Warm, cozy things

19 Nov
today_show_snuggies

OK. So the "Today Show" people look like they're getting ready to board the mothership. But at least they won't be freezing when they do it.

On the sixth day of Christmas, Flat Broke Blog gave to me: Something that kept me from freezing my tail off!

The weather outside is frightful during the holiday season. Anything your gift recipient could have to stay warm would be so delightful.

Anything warm and cozy is highly desirable in December and January — anywhere. I used to live in Florida, and yes, we did have 80-degree days in January sometimes. But one winter was cold enough for a coat even there. Have you ever felt the January wind while next to the ocean? Brrrr…

Finding something warm and snuggly to use in your home could mean you won’t have to turn up the thermostat very much. Who doesn’t want lower electric/gas bills? Cozy items are investments.

The possibilities are endless for warm items, and they’re available for women, men, kids — even dogs. (OK, so the latter isn’t exactly practical, but I’m just trying to prove a point, here.) There’s warm stuff to fit all tastes. For example, I’m known to like anything purple, black or “diva style”. My grandmother bought me a set of purple gloves and a purple scarf one year, my mom bought me a pair of black leather gloves and I own a pair of leopard print slippers. These items were all about $10 or less.

Need suggestions? Here are some that are just the tip of the iceberg: Hats, gloves, slippers, blankets, throws, scarves, Hot Hands, insulated coffee mugs, thick socks, slipper socks…

The good news that, with the exception of high-priced leather coats and the like, warm stuff is usually dirt cheap. Most stores usually sell a lot of it in gift sets around the holidays. That purple gloves/scarf set cost about $5.

Did I mention the Snuggie is sold in most stores now? Yes, the Snuggie is priced a little higher than most of these items, but it isn’t totally outrageous. Don’t forget that included book light.

Just as I mentioned during the third day of Flat Broke Christmas, you need to make sure you’re getting the right item for the right person. If you don’t know what this person wants or needs, ask!

Make sure that design fits that person’s tastes. Don’t buy your Southern Baptist grandmother who goes to church nine days a week a zebra print Snuggie. Don’t buy something pink for your cousin who opens beer cans with his teeth. Also, you may know someone who has enough blankets to build a giant tent, but no slippers for their freezing feet. Get the slippers, not the blanket.

For people who work outside most of — if not all day — you may just want to buy one item, but make sure it’s extra, extra warm.

Also make sure whatever you buy will actually fit the person, and remember that “one size fits all” is generally bogus. Is that item that is supposed to fit Tiny Tim going to also fit your 6 feet 3 inches tall, 300-pound brother? I don’t believe it will.

Keeping track:

One name draw and price limit

Two wads of cash

Three people asking me what I’d like

Four gas cards

Five personal assistants

Six warm, cozy things…

Coming tomorrow: The seventh day of Flat Broke Christmas!

2 Responses to “Sixth Day of Flat Broke Christmas: Warm, cozy things”

  1. 2berrys November 19, 2009 at 1:25 pm #

    Two words – fleece pants. I got a pair for my husband last year and we fondly refer to them as his “comfy pants”. Any time I head upstairs to change clothes after work, he asks me to “throw down his comfy pants.”

    Great idea for a post. It reminds me that I gotta start knitting again this holiday season!

  2. David November 20, 2009 at 11:09 pm #

    When I read the title, “warm, cozy things,” I immediately thought of the Snuggie. I was quite amused to see the Today Show crew adorned in Snuggie attire. haha

Leave a Reply

