The Flat Broke Diva is thankful for…

25 Nov

Every job involves crap, even ones at the White House. White House intern Nick Butterfield, who was assigned to watch May, the National Thanksgiving Turkey, follows the bird sprinkling wood shavings over his droppings, prior to a ceremony where President Bush pardoned the bird in the Rose Garden of the White House in Washington, Tuesday, Nov. 20, 2007. (AP Photo/Gerald Herbert)

Tomorrow is a day when many of us — myself included — will break our diets and eat turkey, dressing, pie and whatever else would make a TV health expert run through the streets screaming like a banshee.

Thanksgiving is here, and it’s that time we’re traditionally asked “What are you thankful for?”. Most of us in the Flat Broke Universe are tempted to roll our eyes when we hear this. Personally speaking, this year has been a financial rollercoaster ride on crack. I’m sure I’m speaking for many others out there. But from personal experience, I also know the situation could be far worse. There are so many people in far worse conditions right now.

I believe, though, we all have something for which we can be thankful. It may be hard or even painful to come up with such a list, but here’s mine:

I’m thankful for this computer chair that is all but destroyed because of all the claw marks. My cat must truly love me if he has climbed it to get to me that many times.

I’m thankful for my old computer that’s more than five years old from which I still have to clear a boatload of files. It lasted for an amazing amount of time and kept me from having to replace it sooner than I had do so.

I’m thankful for the old printer on my floor right now. That baby lasted for almost 10 years. I was able to go even longer without having to replace a printer. That was one awesome ride, my friend.

I’m thankful for being able to finally get out of my Sprint contract and drop their awful service.

I’m thankful for slipcovers. For a fraction of the price, I was able to cover my couch and chair that are more than 10 years old and look like something out of your grandmother’s living room.

I’m thankful for dropping the cable converter box that was hooked up to my bedroom TV — the 1995 model that my grandmother threw out. I thought that TV was a goner until I decided to save a few bucks and just run the cable straight out of the wall. Now, I can actually see the picture and hear sounds other than static. It actually works now. Sweet.

I’m thankful for my toilet. I only have to plunge it perhaps once or twice a week, and it unclogs rather quickly. I’ve never had to call in the professionals like I have before.

I’m thankful for my grandmother’s dogs chewing up her vacuum cleaner cord. I now have a vacuum cleaner that actually gets dirt out of the carpet for a change. I just have to watch where I grip the cord.

I’m thankful for one of my best friends’ mom for giving me two massive lamps she was going to throw out anyway. I have no overhead lighting in three rooms. I can actually see my hand in front of my face when in the living room, bedroom and office, and I’m no longer in danger of falling.

I’m thankful for another one of my best friends for hurriedly de-junking her home when she moved from West Virginia to South Carolina. I now have a bookshelf, end table, dish set I use almost daily.

I’m thankful for filthy rich people. They regularly discard items that would cost me more than a month’s salary. They take the initial hit, so I can buy their stuff for a buck at yard sales, consignment stores and book/music exchanges.

I’m thankful for my parents, who have pulled their near-30-year-old daughter out of numerous financial jams during a year that included 10 days off without pay.

I’m thankful that, for the first time since 2003, I will get to spend Thanksgiving with my family. Welcome to a life of moving all over the Southeast and a career in journalism.

Oh yeah, one more thing…

I’m thankful for YOU. Yes, you. Over the past few weeks, this blog’s readership has taken off more than my wildest dreams could have ever imagined. Your loyalty knows no bounds, and I hope I can provide you more commentary and survival tips that keep you coming back.

Just as I’m sure others in the blogosphere will be doing, I’ll be taking a few days off because of the aforementioned first Thanksgiving with my family in six years. But don’t worry. Just because the “12 Days of Flat Broke Christmas” are over doesn’t mean The Flat Broke Blog is over. Oh, no! No! This Flat Broke Diva will be back with more poverty fun, and she plans to keep on trucking until she can’t truck anymore!

Have the most awesome Turkey Day ever, even if you are eating TV dinners. Please be safe if you plan to join the Black Friday stampede.

And what better way to conclude the “12 Days of Flat Broke Christmas series” than this awesome version of the real Christmas song. The Muppets rock my socks. Poor Fozzie.

4 Responses to “The Flat Broke Diva is thankful for…”

  1. Jayne November 25, 2009 at 11:41 am #

    This was a great post. There are so many everyday things we just take for granted and forget to be grateful for. A very Happy Thanksgiving to you…

    • flatbrokegirl November 25, 2009 at 8:13 pm #

      Thank you so much! Happy Thanksgiving to you, too!

  2. Tiana November 26, 2009 at 6:26 am #

    I love that you’ve put up the Muppet’s Twelve Days of Christmas. It’s may all time fave! Happy Turkey Day!! Have a great time with your family.

    • flatbrokegirl November 26, 2009 at 11:10 pm #

      Thank you! I hope yours has been awesome too! Give Jocelyn and Gareth a big hug from me!

Leave a Reply

