Grad school update: Life has done a MAJOR 180!

9 Sep

What a difference less than a month makes!

Gals and guys, this will be quick because I, as usual, have a shitload of reading to do. I just wanted to give you all a quick update to let you know I’m alive.

OK. So grad school is hell. I expected it to be that way, but I honestly didn’t believe it would be this hellish. All three classes I have are rough, and I have to do quite a bit of reading before each class. Here’s the thing: You CANNOT slack off. If you have the chance to get something earlier, you HAVE to get it done right then. Otherwise, something else will come along that will definitely eat you alive. This past week, alone, I had to submit two proposals for two of four major research projects — on the same day. So much for my Labor Day weekend!

But here’s the thing: Yes, this new gig is eating my soul. But life is so good right now. Yes, the classes are rough as hell, but they’re majorly interesting. In my public administration class, we have eight people in it, and our professor basically comes in and asks us what we thought about the reading. We take it from there. She doesn’t just kick back, but we’re the masters of our own fate. Class participation is required in all of them, and we have some really lively, stimulating conversation in all of them. The material is rough, but it’s really engaging. So, it doesn’t TOTALLY feel like I’m being tortured.

Most of all, I’m just really feeling great about doing a major amount of work that’s actually going to make my life better — maybe get me into a more fascinating place, like I’ve wanted to do for so long. I’m really thinking I’d like to move to Seattle once I’m finished up here. I know what my regulars are going to think, “She’s so crazy obsessed with Alice in Chains that she’ll move to the band’s hometown.” Sure, the grunge scene opened my eyes to it. But I’ve done some looking into it, and it seems like the total package. There’s a lot of rain, but the temperatures are moderate. For someone who has lived through a literal two feet of snow AND 100+ degree temperatures, that’s appealing. It’s also on the coastline, which makes it even more appealing. Once you live on the coastline, you get spoiled and want it more! No hurricanes make it feel soooo much better.

By the way, if anyone reading this lives in Seattle, regularly visits it or has friends/family living there, I’d love to get in touch with you or that other person. Shoot me a line!

There’s sometimes when I feel barely alive, but all in all, I feel like I was resurrected from actually being dead. I’m loving this new life, and I intend to knock ’em dead.

Time for MORE reading. Much love to all of you!

2 Responses to “Grad school update: Life has done a MAJOR 180!”

  1. Amanda September 9, 2010 at 9:45 am #

    Grad school was the greatest thing I’ve ever done (besides marry my husband). 🙂 You grow so much intellectually and emotionally. It’s a great way to get to know who you are and figure out what you want to do! Congrats and good luck.

  2. injaynesworld September 17, 2010 at 5:41 pm #

    I’m jealous of where you are in your life right now. Good for you for taking this chance and going for it. I wish you every success.

Leave a Reply

